Roland Münchow

Translation & Web design.

About me

Ever since studying English, German and Philosophy at the University of Cologne, while holding different jobs as network administrator and webmaster, working with and thinking about language and computers has been a central part of my life (later to be joined by a keen interest in extracting the perfect espresso).

Over the past years I have worked in the book trade, coordinating franchise stores all over Germany, while taking care of the FBML programming on my employer's Facebook Page and dedicating my free time to small translation projects, playing music and keeping up to date with the latest developments on the web.

I am now back in Cologne, working as a full-time freelancer in translation and web design.

Approach

With the admittedly tempting possibilities of today's Web, many websites tend to get cluttered up with elements that obscure or divert from its original raison d'être - its content.

Any approach toward creating websites has to strategically question the relation between every element employed in the presentation of its content and the message it aims to convey.

The same, of course, is valid for the practice of translation (and language in general). Staying faithful to an original while adequately transferring it to another idiom replete with its very own set of cultural parameters is a challenge which, for aesthetic and semantic reasons, needs to be faced with clear goals in mind: Simplicity, precision and beauty - striking the perfect balance between form and content.

Roland Münchow

Übersetzung & Webdesign.

Über mich

Seit meinem Magisterstudium in Englisch, Deutsch und Philosophie an der Universität Köln und verschiedenen Jobs als Netzwerkadministrator und Webmaster, macht die theoretische und praktische Arbeit mit Sprache und Computern (und seit einiger Zeit auch die Beschäftigung mit der Herstellung des perfekten Espresso) einen zentralen Teil meines Lebens aus.

Die letzten Jahre habe ich im Buchhandel gearbeitet, Franchise-Buchhandlungen in ganz Deutschland betreut und mich nebenbei um die FBML Programmierungen auf der Facebook-Seite meines Arbeitgebers gekümmert. In meiner Freizeit habe ich mich mit kleineren Übersetzungsprojekten beschäftigt, Musik gemacht und stets die neuesten Entwicklungen im Internet im Auge behalten.

Inzwischen lebe ich wieder durchgehend in Köln und arbeite als Freelancer in Übersetzung und Webdesign.

Ansatz

Durch die mannigfaltigen verlockenden Möglichkeiten, die das Internet zur Darstellung von Inhalten bietet, sind viele Webseiten mit Elementen überladen, die den Blick auf ihren eigentlichen Zweck - eben jenen Inhalt - verstellen.

Daher lautet die zentrale strategische Frage bei der Gestaltung von Webseiten immer wieder: In welcher Beziehung stehen die Elemente der Präsentation zum Inhalt? Wie verstärken oder verzerren sie die zu kommunizierende Information?

Für Übersetzungen (und Sprache insgesamt) gilt dies genauso. Die Herausforderung, einen Text bei der Übertragung in eine Sprache, die ihrerseits tief in eine Vielzahl kultureller Parameter eingebettet ist, gerecht zu werden, muss, aus semantischen und ästhetischen Beweggründen, mit klaren Zielen vor Augen angenommen werden: Ökonomie, Präzision und Schönheit - zur idealen Balance von Form und Inhalt.